Napoleon’s Question

image

  Most of you know the story of a French general who rose to power after the French Revolution. This general went on to invade and take over most of Europe and control one of the largest empires in all of history. He also fixed France’s economy and helped the country to get back on its feet. The general of course is Napoleon Bonaparte and he is widely considered to be one of the greatest  in the history of the world.

  After Napoleon was defeated for the last time, he was sent to the island of St. Helena where he would ultimately meet his death. While imprisoned however he was conversing with Count Montholon when Napoleon asked the Count this question, “Who was Jesus Christ?” The Count declined to answer and Napoleon went on to both answer his own question and deliver one of the most eloquent explanations of how Jesus conquered that has ever been given.

“I will tell you. Alexander, Caesar, Charlemagne, and myself have founded great empires. But our empires were founded on force. Jesus alone founded His empire on love, and to this day millions would die for Him. I think I understand something of human nature, and I tell you, all these were men, and I am a man. Jesus Christ was more than man.

I have inspired multitudes with a devotion so enthusiastic that they would have died for me. But to do this it was necessary that I should be visibly present with the electric influence of my looks, my words, my voice. Who cares for me now removed as I am from the active scenes of life, and from the presence of men? Who would now die for me?

Christ alone across the chasm of eighteen centuries makes a demand which is beyond all others difficult to satisfy. He asks more than a father can demand of his child, or a bride of her spouse, or a man of his brother. He asks for the human heart. He will have it entirely to Himself. He demands it unconditionally, and forthwith His demand is granted.

Wonderful! In defiance of time and space, the soul of man with all its powers and faculties becomes an annexation to the empire of Christ. This phenomenon is unaccountable; it is altogether beyond the scope of man’s creative powers.

Time, the great destroyer, is powerless to extinguish this sacred flame. This is what strikes me most. This is what proves to me quite convincingly that Jesus Christ is God.”

  Wow. I hope you guys read all of that because when I came upon it tonight I was simply blown away. To think that a man like Napoleon could deliver such an eloquent speech on who Jesus was is simply mind blowing.

  Another famous story of Napoleon is an instance that occured between him and General Bertrand. Napoleon said this to his general, one of his most trusted men, “If you do not perceive that Jesus Christ is Lord, very well then, I did wrong to make you general.”

  I have always respected Napoleon for his leadership skills and military conquests. When I cams across these quotes, I felt that I must share them with you. I hope that this served you as a reminder about who Jesus was and how he conquered all of our hearts; through love, not war. Have a great evening everyone and hope to see you all Sunday!

Leave a Reply

