Looking For Good In All The Wrong Places

cs lewis

Most Friday nights myself and a group of youth, along with some adults, get together to fellowship and go through a book written by CS Lewis (Who happens to be one of my favorite authors). The book is titled Mere Christianity and that pretty much sums up what it’s about. It is an examination of our faith conducted by one of the greatest Christian authors of our age. While I could go in depth on many of the topics discussed by Lewis in this work of literature, one in particular has stuck out to me above the others thus far through the first couple chapters. Lewis is examining the popular struggle of good vs evil. The following quote has stuck with me in the two weeks since first reading it. “Wickedness is the pursuit of some good in the wrong way”.

It hit how very true that is. As the others continued on in the chapter (they had actually skipped the section in which Lewis states that for time’s sake) I sat and pondered that quote. I then got up and went in the other room to grab a pad and pen so that I could write that quote down. If you think about it, it is so very true. You may do something for the end result of what you think will be for the greater good. But the way in which you go about it may be all wrong. I’m sure you can think of many examples in every day life of this. You may cheat on a test because you think it will help you achieve that good grade but in reality deep down you know cheating is wrong.

So today I encourage you to rise above the wickedness. If you can’t get a good result by doing good, then don’t sacrafice your morals for the sake of getting a good result.

I hope everyone has a great rest of the day and hope to see you all Sunday!

Leave a Reply

